June 30, 2021

Congratulations Leadership Columbia Class of 2021

On Tuesday, June 8, 2021 at the Hunter-Gatherer Brewery at the Curtiss-Wright Hangar, the Columbia Chamber and the Leadership Columbia Advisory Board (LCAB) honored 36 graduates of the Leadership Columbia program. The Class of 2021 completed an orientation, a retreat, ten class days and a class project with the Midlands Fatherhood Coalition. Since its inception in 1972, Leadership Columbia has graduated over 2,000 leaders across the Midlands.

“For the past 48 years, Leadership Columbia has consistently provided the Midlands with dynamic leaders who are passionate about inspiring change in the community,” said Carl Blackstone, President and CEO of the Columbia Chamber, “The project the Class of 2021 has completed for the Midlands Fatherhood Coalition will serve as a welcoming space for local fathers and their children for years to come.”

In addition to presenting each graduate with a commemorative plaque, the Columbia Chamber and Leadership Columbia Advisory Board honored Megan Newbold, Garvin Design Group, with the Glenn Jacobus Award, an award given each year to a class member who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to the class project and truly embodies the role of a servant leader.

The Leadership Columbia Class of 2021:

JohnAndohCentral Midlands Regional Transit Authority
RachelAtriaYMCA of Columbia
MarciaBaconRichland First Steps
MichaelBarkerBlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina
ThomasBeardColliers International
KaitlinBeckHaynsworth Sinkler Boyd, P.A.
JenniferBerrymanBlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina
SamBondSouth Carolina Education Lottery
TomBryantSouth Carolina Air National Guard
AditiSrivastav BussellsChildren’s Trust of South Carolina
BrandenConradFirst Citizens Bank
MimiDraftColumbia Water
MeganHuebnerIndependent Insurance Agents and Brokers of SC
RulaKiblerColonial Life
CatieMartinBlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina
HunterMcKenzieGoodwyn Mills Cawood
FrankMundyStewart Engineering, Inc.
MeganNewboldGarvin Design Group
CassandraPadenSouth Carolina Federal Credit Union
RachelPhillipsSouth Carolina Air National Guard
RachelPricePalmetto Conservation Foundation
CatherineRamirezChernoff Newman
BrittaniRichardsCentral SC Habitat for Humanity
ArteyaRobinsonBlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina
JameshaShackerfordCentral Carolina Community Foundation
AustinSmallwoodSouth Carolina Realtors
MeredithSmithBlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina
TaylorStanleyTurner Padget Graham & Laney P.A.
DianaStevensonGrace Outdoor Advertising
SaraSvedbergNexsen Pruet, LLC
ThomasTafelLexington Medical Center
MayaTroyColonial Life
TheresaWallaceSouth Carolina Humanities
RobertWillmNephron Pharmaceuticals

“Leadership Columbia provides an unparalleled leadership development opportunity,” said Patrick Cleary, 2020-2021 Leadership Columbia Advisory Board Chair, “the Class of 2021 showed incredible teamwork and impact in the Midlands while in the program. We look forward to another successful group of leaders in the Class of 2022.”

In August, the Columbia Chamber will announce the Leadership Columbia Class of 2022.

View Graduation Photos

Learn More About Leadership Columbia

Back to all News